The City Council of Crystal Lake, IL

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Crystal Lake City Council is comprised of Mayor Aaron Shepley and Council Members Ellen Brady, Ralph Dawson, Cathy Ferguson, Haig Haleblian, Brett Hopkins and Cameron Hubbard.

The Mayor and City Council provide strong leadership for Crystal Lake by envisioning and setting the City’s direction and goals through establishing policies and passing laws involving matters of finance and budgeting, community development and appearance, legal issues and much more.

City Hall

City Clerk Nick Kachiroubas does not vote on matters before the City Council, but is responsible for recording the votes at City Council meetings in addition to other duties.

The day to day operations of the City, including all City departments and employees, are the responsibility of the City Manager, Gary Mayerhofer, who is appointed by and reports directly to the Mayor and City Council. 

City Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers of City Hall at 100 West Woodstock Street. The meetings are simultaneously broadcast on Comcast Channel 17 and on AT&T U-Verse on Channel 99. Meeting DVDs are also available at the Crystal Lake Public Library.

The Mayor, City Council Members and City Clerk are elected at large on a non-partisan basis for four year terms, and are paid a nominal salary which they have not voted to increase since 1983. Although they do not keep regular office hours at City Hall, comments or questions are always welcome at 815-356-3700, ext. 4084, or at

* * * * * * *

Annual Letter from the Mayor and City Council

Annual State of the Community Report

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer